Rasmussen Blacksmith Shop

300 S Main St Lewistown, IL 61542

(309) 750-7237

Visit Website

Description

One of just a few historic blacksmith shops in the entire country in its original location. The Rasmussen Blacksmith Shop was built in the mid-1830s, with Nels Rasmussen purchasing the shop in 1880. The sound of the blacksmith’s hammer could be heard until 1969, when the shop closed after the death of Don Rasmussen, Nels’ son. Since that time, visitors have been able to experience the building’s long history and operation, including seeing blacksmiths in action. The Rasmussen Blacksmith Shop Museum is a popular stop during the annual Spoon River Scenic Drive Fall Festival.

Map

Discover Peoria, IL